What is a PDH?
A Professional Development  Hour (PDH) is 60 minutes spent in a professional development activity as a learner and participant. PDHs are accumulated through participation in non-ASHA CEU activities for the purpose of maintaining your CCC.

PDHs are calculated as follows:

3.0 continuing education units (CEUs) = 30 PDHs

1.0 CEU = 10 PDHs

0.1 CEU = 1 PDH

ASHA Certification Maintenance Interval:
ASHA requires 30 PDHs every 3 years to maintain your CCCs. There are many types of learning activities that will satisfy the PDH requirement for ASHA.  These include, but are not limited to, courses offered for ASHA CEUs by ASHA-approved providers.

State Licensure Renewal Hours:
Each state has their own licensing requirements. Many states accept PDHs when (1) courses are offered by an ASHA CEU provider and/or (2) you provide other supporting documentation when submitting to your state (e.g. course description, learning objectives, speaker bio, etc.); however, you will need to check with your specific state to see if PDHs are eligible for licensure renewal hours.  Click here to search contact information for your state.

Difference Between ASHA CEUs and PDHs:
ASHA CEUs can only be earned by joining the ASHA Registry and having your courses reported to the Registry by the approved provider once all requirements for a course are met. You cannot self submit hours for ASHA CEUs. If you are not a Registry member, or if you decide not to opt in for ASHA CEUs, your hours are simply called PDHs rather than ASHA CEUs, and you will need to maintain your own record of activities completed.

ASHA CEUs are awarded by the ASHA Continuing Education Board once eligibility requirements are met. The exam, course evaluation, and CE opt in form for courses must be completed and submitted by the deadline listed in the participation and completion requirements section of the course details. If you do not correctly and completely submit these materials by the deadline, you will not be eligible to receive ASHA CEUs for a course.